Signal-to-noise ratio (often abbreviated SNR or S/N) is a measure used in science and engineering that compares the level of a desired signal to the level of background noise. It is defined as the ratio of signal power to the noise power. ~Wikipedia

On Facebook we can define SNR by the ratio of useful posts (The posts from friends we care about the most – The signal) over the others (The noise).

According to Dunbar’s number, the theoretical cognitive limit to the number of people with whom one can maintain stable social relationships lies between 100 and 230, with a commonly used value of 150.

I have now on Facebook 658 friends and when it happens to me to be off Facebook for more than 3 days, after I logged in again, I miss the news from my closest friends because of the noise produced by all the others. So I decided to create a list of friends called “Best” and select only the people I care about the most.

After a hard time deciding for each of my 658 friends whether I add him to my “Best” list or not, I ended up with a list of just 146 people! I hadn’t in mind Dunbar’s number when I was sorting my friends, but when I saw the number 146, I was a little bit surprised, because I was expecting the list to contain at least half of my friends (300+).

Now when I go to Facebook’s home page and select to show the news just from my “Best” list instead of “Most Recent”. WOW! I really improved my SNR on facebook 4.5 times!

I really encourage you to try it, and sort your friends, you won’t miss the news from closest ones again.

Leave a Reply

